This profile allows arbitrary pieces of information to be added to a student’s record. A note can be categorised by assigning a category and sub category allowing notes to be logically grouped together for easier viewing.
Viewing a Student’s Notes#
You can view a student’s notes from their dashboard. You can use the student directory to easily find a student and view their dashboard. Once on the student’s dashboard, click the notes tab from the menu. You’ll be shown the notes that have been added for this student with the most recent note shown first.
You can filter the visible notes using the filter options at the top of the screen.
Sensitive notes can only be seen by a user that has permission. For example, a student’s head of year will automatically be able to see the sensitive notes for students in their year group. Users with the “View Sensitive Notes” permission will be able to see the sensitive notes for all students.
Creating a Note#
To add a new note to a student’s record, first navigate to the student’s dashboard and select the notes tab. Click the New button at the top of the screen to add a new note.
This will open the new note screen where you can create a new note.
You’ll need to enter the required information:
A category that will help you identify the note’s purpose on the student’s record.
Date of Record
A date that represents when the note appears on the student’s record.
The content of the note containing the information you want to record.
Is this note a sensitive note or not. If so only certain people will be able to view the note.
If you have the “Manage All Notes” permission, you’ll be able to select the user to file this note on behalf of.
Depending on the schools configuration, some categories require that you also enter a sub category.
Once you’ve entered the desired information, click the save button to add the note. You’ll be taken back to the student’s notes screen and a green popup message confirming the note has been saved will be shown.
Deleting a Note#
To delete an existing note, locate the note on the student’s dashboard and click the Delete button from the top right hand corner of the corresponding card.
You’ll be asked to confirm the deletion before the note is deleted. A green popup message will confirm the note has been deleted successfully.
Editing a Note#
To edit an existing note, locate the note on the student’s dashboard and click the Edit button from the top right hand corner of the corresponding card.
You’ll be taken to the edit view for the selected note. where you can update any of the information you need to before clicking the save button to save the changes.
Update any of the required information and click the save button to confirm the changes. You’ll be taken back to the student’s notes page and a green popup message will confirm the changes were saved successfully.
This page is protected by the following permissions:
Delete All Notes
Manage All Notes
View Sensitive Notes
This page is available to users with the following roles:
Available with permission